Born to Dance Lyrics

 

Music makes me move that

Universal Language make me flow like that

 

The drums, the shakers the bass, piano man make me go like that

Don’t tell me, I wasn’t born to dance

 

Summer heat make me (go like that flow like that)

Jimbe beat make me

Got these (curves in my body) so I’ll move

Don’t tell me I wasn’t made to groove

 

What’s it like

To soar through trees

And what’s it like

Lifted and standin’ on the breeze

And what’s it like

To float through the seasons

When you’re born to dance

 

A young girl

I felt the movement

On me

Instead I had to do a white gal’s laundry

Wanted to sway

(Shake oppression) up off me, baby

I was born to dance

 

Life got hard money was real funny

Soul got hungry so, I took what was good to me

Went upside a few heads

Spread my arms and my legs

There go my babies

 

How I wish they could’ve seen me swing

Through two room apartment like I had new wings

Every night when I put all of ‘ em down to sleep

That’s when I knew that I could ride the breeze

 

Hips, make ‘em pop like that

Snakin’ in my belly movin’ front to back

Arms in the air, take it down like – WOW

Yeah that’s me born to throw down

 

Party down the block late on Friday

It’s me up in the house, gon get out ma way

I’m a cutta rug, jitter bug, make everyone say

That Girl, right there, she know she could sway

 

Can’t forget about Sunday mornin’s trance

Preachin’ getting good break into my dance

Two-step shout that’ll put holy rollers to shame

That’s cuz I know that I know that I know what

He’s done for me

 

Somewhere along the distant shores of Africa

was born a conduit,

whose limbs were ordained to guide the last of her

generations, generations, generations

 

Now’s the time, the Lord sees fit to free me

Look up Look up honey child

Can’t you see me

Beside one of those stars

In my new brown body

Left toe pointed to the south

Right finger pointed to the east

 

My soul’s dancin’, essence swingin’, spirit movin’, my heart’s changin’, can’t stop changin’, my heart’s movin, I feel it down in my core…repeat…

 

Makes me move like that!!!! 

Commentary

Rena was a dancer.  According to her, she danced well and danced hard.  At parties, she and her cousin drew much attention for their skill.  But Rena stopped dancing at parties…And when she stopped expressing herself in this manner (for the sake of what she believed was holy), she lost something (not much, though, since her children remember her ‘holy shout dance’ something to see.  All of her moves, albeit religious, street partying, or erotic hip action came back just before she transitioned from this life,when she told me to keep dancing.  She said when the spirit hits, just start moving…and don’t stop until you feel like it.  I really enjoyed recording this! I danced the entire time.

~ by innarae on April 6, 2009.

One Response to “Born to Dance Lyrics”

  1. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this
    site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very
    difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal.
    I must say you’ve done a great job with this. Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Internet explorer.
    Outstanding Blog!

Leave a Reply

 
